Visa Grep Sign in

MAXIMUS Inc.

H-1B visa and green card sponsorship record

McLean, VA Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services Files from VA On record FY2020–FY2026

Yes — MAXIMUS Inc. sponsors H-1B visas.

The U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) certified 38 of its H-1B filings in FY2025 and 30 so far in FY2026 (through June 30, 2026).

At a glance

Certified H-1B filings, FY2025
38 30 so far in FY2026
Median offered salary, FY2025
$134,604 from 38 filings
USCIS approval rate, FY2020–FY2022
100.0% of 11 new petitions
Green card filings (PERM), FY2025
12
E-Verify
On the list as of December 31, 2018
H-1B dependent
No

Fiscal years (FY) run October to September. Approval rates are from U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS).

Sponsorship score

5/10

Computed September 15, 2026 from its FY2020–FY2025 record.

  • Recent approvals 0/3

    0 new H-1B petitions approved by USCIS in FY2022

  • Entry-level hiring 1/3

    24% of 50 H-1B filings with a wage level were entry level (I or II), FY2023–FY2025

  • Files every year 2/2

    Certified H-1B filings in 3 of the 3 years FY2023–FY2025

  • Approval rate 2/2

    100.0% of 11 new petitions approved, FY2020–FY2022

H-1B filings (Department of Labor)

Before filing an H-1B petition, an employer must get a Labor Condition Application (LCA) certified by the Department of Labor. These are this company's LCAs, by fiscal year.

H-1B filings with the Department of Labor, by fiscal year
Fiscal yearFiledCertified H-1BDeniedWithdrawnEntry level
FY202043390626% of 39
FY202137340332% of 34
FY202242390421% of 29
FY202351460732% of 25
FY202440341718% of 11
FY202540380214% of 14
FY2026 so far31300323% of 13
Certified H-1B filings, FY2020–FY2026. Tallest bar: FY2023, 46. Scaled to this chart's own tallest bar.

Entry level is the share of certified H-1B filings with a stated wage level that were level I or II.

“Filed”, “Denied” and “Withdrawn” count every LCA, including the E-3 and H-1B1 visas that use the same form; “Certified H-1B” counts H-1B only. A filing certified and later withdrawn counts in both columns.

FY2026 is in progress: data runs through June 30, 2026.

H-1B approvals (USCIS)

After DOL certifies an LCA, the employer files the H-1B petition with U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS), which approves or denies it. New petitions and extensions or transfers are counted separately.

H-1B petitions decided by USCIS, by fiscal year
New petitionsExtensions and transfers
Fiscal yearApprovedDeniedApproval rateApprovedDenied
FY202030100.0%310
FY202180100.0%350
FY202200No decisions491
FY2023 (partial)00No decisions91
New H-1B petitions approved, FY2020–FY2023. Tallest bar: FY2021, 8. Scaled to this chart's own tallest bar.

These numbers come from USCIS, which decides H-1B petitions. They count different things from Department of Labor filings, so we never add the two together.

FY2023 is incomplete: USCIS's last data release covers only part of that year (38,315 new approvals nationwide, against 138,381 in FY2022).

USCIS hasn't published employer-level approval data after FY2023.

USCIS also has records for this company in FY2009–FY2019: 25 new H-1B petitions approved. Show FY2009 onward

Salaries

Offered salary is the yearly pay an employer states on a certified, full-time H-1B filing — the bottom of the range when it gives one. Hourly, weekly and monthly pay is converted to a yearly figure; amounts under $15,000 or over $1,000,000 a year are left out. The typical range is the middle half: a quarter of filings offered less, and a quarter more.

Offered salaries on certified H-1B filings, by fiscal year
Fiscal yearMedianTypical rangeFilings
FY2020$119,000$112,500 – $130,00039
FY2021$119,500$114,982 – $130,18634
FY2022$128,759$115,000 – $135,50139
FY2023$132,246$120,000 – $144,00046
FY2024$136,341$117,370 – $151,00033
FY2025$134,604$127,018 – $148,76538
FY2026 so far$137,695$113,987 – $158,09630

Wage levels since FY2023

  • Level I (entry) 3 5%
  • Level II (entry) 12 19%
  • Level III 1 2%
  • Level IV 47 75%

Shares of the 63 certified H-1B filings since FY2023 that state a wage level. 85 filings didn't state one.

Jobs and locations

Certified H-1B filings since FY2023, with the median offered salary for each.

Top job titles

Top job titles on certified H-1B filings since FY2023
Job titleFilingsMedian salaryTypical wage level
Senior Engineer - Software Engineering20$128,000IV
Engineer - Software Engineering4$115,005II (entry)
IT Lead Engineer - Software Engineer4$136,800IV
IT Lead Engineer - Software Engineering4$129,000IV
Sr Engnr - Softwr Engnr4$127,761Not stated
Sr Manager - Softwr Engnr4$162,000IV
Developer - Software3$106,416Not stated
IT Lead Engnr - Cloud Ops3$148,765IV
IT Lead Engnr - Softwr Engnr3$147,500IV
Lead Developer - Digital Software3$160,000IV

Top locations

Top worksites on certified H-1B filings since FY2023
LocationFilingsMedian salary
Rancho Cordova, CA11$139,417
Folsom, CA8$140,556
McLean, VA7$116,802
Herndon, VA5$122,010
Round Rock, TX5$143,710
Georgetown, TX4$145,000
McKinney, TX4$126,320
Austin, TX3$117,370
Batavia, OH3$123,440
Guilderland, NY3$130,075

Top occupations

Top occupations on certified H-1B filings since FY2023
OccupationFilingsMedian salary
Software Developers 15-125282$133,640
Computer and Information Systems Managers 11-302117$162,000
Information Technology Project Managers 15-129910$126,320
Database Administrators 15-12429$132,500
Software Quality Assurance Analysts and Testers 15-12537$121,778
Business Intelligence Analysts 15-20515$110,000

What the filings were for

What its certified H-1B filings since FY2023 were for, as marked on each LCA. One filing can cover several workers, so these count worker positions.

Worker positions on certified H-1B filings since FY2023, by purpose
Filing typeWorker positionsShare
New employment New H-1B workers joining the company149%
Continuation of existing employment Extensions for current H-1B workers2617%
Change of employer Transfers in: H-1B workers moving from another employer2114%
Change in previous employment Changes to a current H-1B worker's job4530%
Concurrent employment A second H-1B job alongside one elsewhere00%
Amended petition Amendments to a petition already filed4329%

It also has 2 certified E-3 filings (a visa for Australian citizens) since FY2023. They use the same form and aren't counted above.

Green card sponsorship (PERM)

Most employer-sponsored green cards start with a PERM labor certification, filed with the Department of Labor. These are this company's, by fiscal year.

Green card filings (PERM), by fiscal year
Fiscal yearFiledCertifiedDeniedWithdrawn
FY20204400
FY20219900
FY2022131300
FY20237610
FY20244400
FY2025121101
FY2026 so far10901

FY2026 is in progress: data runs through June 30, 2026.

Across all its green card filings since FY2020, whatever the outcome. DOL's newer PERM form doesn't include citizenship or education, so those two lists cover filings made on the older one.

Top green card job titles

Top job titles on green card filings
Job titleFilings
Senior Engineer - Software Engineering14
Analyst - Systems Analysis2
Engineer 3 - Middleware2
Engineer 3 - Software Engineering2
Manager - Software Engineering2
Senior Engineer - Database Engineering2
Senior Engineer - Software QA2
Analyst - Human Capital1

Countries of citizenship

Countries of citizenship on green card filings
CountryFilings
India34
China1
Pakistan1
Vietnam1

Minimum education required

Minimum education required on green card filings
EducationFilings
Bachelor's32
Master's4
No minimum1

E-Verify

On the E-Verify list

MAXIMUS Inc. appears on USCIS's list of E-Verify employers dated December 31, 2018, in a state it files from.

The company's listings on USCIS's 2018 E-Verify list
Name as listedLocationWorkforce sizeFederal contractor
MAXIMUS, INCReston, VA 201905,000 to 9,999No

Why it matters: employers must be enrolled in E-Verify to employ F-1 students on the STEM OPT extension (8 CFR 214.2(f)(10)(ii)(C)).

This list is from December 31, 2018, and it's the only one USCIS has published. It shows who was enrolled on that date: a company that enrolled later isn't on it, so not being on the list tells you nothing.

How we match companies to the list

The employer's name key appears in the USCIS E-Verify participating-employers list with a state the employer files in. That list is one snapshot, enrolled as of 2018-12-31, so false means only "not on the 2018 list" - not that the employer does not use E-Verify today, and not that it did not enrol the following week. The list carries no FEIN and no case number, so the match is by normalised name and state alone.

Other things to know

H-1B dependent
No

On most of its certified filings in FY2023–FY2025 that answered the question, the company said it is not H-1B dependent. A dependent employer has a large share of H-1B workers on staff and makes extra promises about recruiting and not displacing U.S. workers.

How we work this out

The employer answered Yes to H1B_DEPENDENT on at least half of the certified LCAs where it answered the question, in FY2023-FY2025. false means it answered and Yes was under half; NULL means no certified case answered the question (E-3 and H-1B1 filings answer N/A). The floor is there because a single Yes among thousands of No answers is a tick in the wrong box: it would badge 979 employers that said Yes once, one of them on 1 filing of 2,760; the 473 that answered only once or twice still are. A dependent employer is not a worse employer: the answer is a statutory test on the share of H-1B workers on staff, not a finding.

Willful violator
No

The company's answers on its filings in FY2020–FY2025 don't show a repeated yes. Employers state on each filing whether DOL has found them to be a willful violator in the five years before; this is the company's own answer, not a DOL record.

How we work this out

The employer answered Yes to WILLFUL_VIOLATOR on at least two LCAs in FY2020-FY2025, certified or not, in at least two fiscal years, and in at least one of those years Yes was half or more of what it answered. The floor is there because a single Yes among thousands of No answers is a tick in the wrong box: 505 employers answer Yes exactly once and never twice, and the two employers with the most Yes answers say it on one filing in two thousand. false means the employer answered and did not meet that bar; NULL means it never answered. THIS IS THE FILER'S OWN ATTESTATION ON THE LCA, NOT A DOL FINDING. The authoritative source is the DOL published debarment list, which this project does not yet mirror - it is a follow-up catalog entry - so nothing here has been checked against it.

Cap-exempt
No sign

Nothing in its name or industry code suggests a college or university. That doesn't make it subject to the cap: nonprofit research organizations and affiliated hospitals can be exempt too, and we can't detect them.

How we work this out

INFERRED, not a determination. true when an FY2023+ LCA carries a NAICS code beginning 6112 or 6113 (junior colleges, colleges and universities) or a raw spelling of the employer's name contains the word UNIVERSITY or COLLEGE. Never false: the column is NULL when neither signal is present, because the absence of a signal is not evidence that an employer is cap-subject. Non-profit research organisations and affiliated hospitals are cap-exempt and both tests miss them. Only USCIS decides cap exemption, petition by petition.

Company details

Name on filings
MAXIMUS Inc.
Other names on filings
MAXIMUS, Inc.; Maximus, Inc
Address on filings
McLean, VA 22102
Industry
Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services (NAICS 541611)
Employees
39,500, as stated on its FY2024 green card filings
Employer ID (FEIN)
54-1000588
On record
FY2020–FY2026
Latest decision on its filings
June 30, 2026

Related companies

No other company shares its Employer ID.

Sources

  • H-1B and green card filings: U.S. Department of Labor, Office of Foreign Labor Certification disclosure data, FY2020 through June 30, 2026.
  • H-1B approvals: USCIS H-1B Employer Data Hub, complete through FY2022; FY2023 is partial.
  • E-Verify: USCIS's list of E-Verify employers as of December 31, 2018.
  • Sponsorship score: computed September 15, 2026 with version 1 of the rules on How Visa Grep works.
  • USCIS approvals are matched to this company by exact name (1 USCIS name). The last four digits of the Employer ID agree.
Record references

Each number on this page is read from one of these rows in the Visa Grep database.

  • employers 129653
  • employer_names
  • employer_feins
  • hub_employers 129653
  • employer_scores 129653
  • rubric 1/*
  • employer_years 129653/2020..2025
  • employer_years 129653/2020..2026
  • employer_years 129653/2009..2019
  • employer_salaries 129653
  • employer_titles 129653
  • employer_worksites 129653
  • employer_occupations 129653
  • employer_mix 129653
  • employer_perm_titles 129653
  • employer_perm_countries 129653
  • employer_perm_education 129653
  • employer_everify 129653
  • employer_details 129653
  • employer_names 129653