Visa Grep Sign in

Montclair State University

H-1B visa and green card sponsorship record

Montclair, NJ Educational Services Files from NJ On record FY2020–FY2026

Yes — Montclair State University sponsors H-1B visas.

The U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) certified 16 of its H-1B filings in FY2025 and 25 so far in FY2026 (through June 30, 2026).

At a glance

Certified H-1B filings, FY2025
16 25 so far in FY2026
Median offered salary, FY2025
$124,004 from 15 filings
USCIS approval rate, FY2020–FY2022
100.0% of 15 new petitions
Green card filings (PERM), FY2025
7
E-Verify
On the list as of December 31, 2018
H-1B dependent
No

Fiscal years (FY) run October to September. Approval rates are from U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS).

Sponsorship score

7/10

Computed September 15, 2026 from its FY2020–FY2025 record.

  • Recent approvals 2/3

    5 new H-1B petitions approved by USCIS in FY2022

  • Entry-level hiring 1/3

    17% of 6 H-1B filings with a wage level were entry level (I or II), FY2023–FY2025

  • Files every year 2/2

    Certified H-1B filings in 3 of the 3 years FY2023–FY2025

  • Approval rate 2/2

    100.0% of 15 new petitions approved, FY2020–FY2022

H-1B filings (Department of Labor)

Before filing an H-1B petition, an employer must get a Labor Condition Application (LCA) certified by the Department of Labor. These are this company's LCAs, by fiscal year.

H-1B filings with the Department of Labor, by fiscal year
Fiscal yearFiledCertified H-1BDeniedWithdrawnEntry level
FY2020121201None stated
FY2021111102None stated
FY20221919030% of 4
FY2023141402None stated
FY2024121204None stated
FY202517160417% of 6
FY2026 so far2625090% of 3
Certified H-1B filings, FY2020–FY2026. Tallest bar: FY2026, 25. Scaled to this chart's own tallest bar.

Entry level is the share of certified H-1B filings with a stated wage level that were level I or II.

“Filed”, “Denied” and “Withdrawn” count every LCA, including the E-3 and H-1B1 visas that use the same form; “Certified H-1B” counts H-1B only. A filing certified and later withdrawn counts in both columns.

FY2026 is in progress: data runs through June 30, 2026.

H-1B approvals (USCIS)

After DOL certifies an LCA, the employer files the H-1B petition with U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS), which approves or denies it. New petitions and extensions or transfers are counted separately.

H-1B petitions decided by USCIS, by fiscal year
New petitionsExtensions and transfers
Fiscal yearApprovedDeniedApproval rateApprovedDenied
FY202040100.0%90
FY202160100.0%61
FY202250100.0%80
FY2023 (partial)20100.0%30
New H-1B petitions approved, FY2020–FY2023. Tallest bar: FY2021, 6. Scaled to this chart's own tallest bar.

These numbers come from USCIS, which decides H-1B petitions. They count different things from Department of Labor filings, so we never add the two together.

FY2023 is incomplete: USCIS's last data release covers only part of that year (38,315 new approvals nationwide, against 138,381 in FY2022).

USCIS hasn't published employer-level approval data after FY2023.

USCIS also has records for this company in FY2009–FY2019: 81 new H-1B petitions approved. Show FY2009 onward

Salaries

Offered salary is the yearly pay an employer states on a certified, full-time H-1B filing — the bottom of the range when it gives one. Hourly, weekly and monthly pay is converted to a yearly figure; amounts under $15,000 or over $1,000,000 a year are left out. The typical range is the middle half: a quarter of filings offered less, and a quarter more.

Offered salaries on certified H-1B filings, by fiscal year
Fiscal yearMedianTypical rangeFilings
FY2020$87,298$77,363 – $90,53212
FY2021$98,942$91,061 – $135,00011
FY2022$118,190$97,555 – $135,25219
FY2023$101,497$87,491 – $150,00014
FY2024$101,224$87,491 – $108,72612
FY2025$124,004$112,531 – $146,22715
FY2026 so far$128,344$104,767 – $149,69925

Wage levels since FY2023

  • Level I (entry) 1 11%
  • Level II (entry) 0 0%
  • Level III 4 44%
  • Level IV 4 44%

Shares of the 9 certified H-1B filings since FY2023 that state a wage level. 58 filings didn't state one.

Jobs and locations

Certified H-1B filings since FY2023, with the median offered salary for each.

Top job titles

Top job titles on certified H-1B filings since FY2023
Job titleFilingsMedian salaryTypical wage level
Assistant Professor of Accounting and Finance3$150,000Not stated
Associate Director, Student Systems Development3$142,570III
Director of Global Programs and Partnerships3$132,624Not stated
Postdoctoral Scientist3$63,410Not stated
Assistant Professor, Exercise Science and Physical Education2$87,491Not stated
Assistant Professor of Audiology2$108,649Not stated
Assistant Professor of Info Management & Business Analytics2$150,000Not stated
Assistant Professor of Management2$127,500Not stated
Assistant Professor of Marketing2$140,000Not stated
Assistant Professor of Microbiology2$104,767Not stated

Top locations

Top worksites on certified H-1B filings since FY2023
LocationFilingsMedian salary
Montclair, NJ66$115,759
Little Falls, NJ1$106,829

Top occupations

Top occupations on certified H-1B filings since FY2023
OccupationFilingsMedian salary
Business Teachers, Postsecondary 25-101116$150,000
Software Developers 15-12526$146,227
Computer Science Teachers, Postsecondary 25-10216$108,673
Education Teachers, Postsecondary 25-10814$101,224
Education Administrators, Postsecondary 11-90333$132,624
Chemists 19-20313$63,410

What the filings were for

What its certified H-1B filings since FY2023 were for, as marked on each LCA. One filing can cover several workers, so these count worker positions.

Worker positions on certified H-1B filings since FY2023, by purpose
Filing typeWorker positionsShare
New employment New H-1B workers joining the company3552%
Continuation of existing employment Extensions for current H-1B workers2030%
Change of employer Transfers in: H-1B workers moving from another employer46%
Change in previous employment Changes to a current H-1B worker's job57%
Concurrent employment A second H-1B job alongside one elsewhere00%
Amended petition Amendments to a petition already filed34%

Green card sponsorship (PERM)

Most employer-sponsored green cards start with a PERM labor certification, filed with the Department of Labor. These are this company's, by fiscal year.

Green card filings (PERM), by fiscal year
Fiscal yearFiledCertifiedDeniedWithdrawn
FY20200000
FY20216600
FY20220000
FY20232200
FY20241100
FY20257700
FY2026 so far3300

FY2026 is in progress: data runs through June 30, 2026.

Across all its green card filings since FY2020, whatever the outcome. DOL's newer PERM form doesn't include citizenship or education, so those two lists cover filings made on the older one.

Top green card job titles

Top job titles on green card filings
Job titleFilings
Assistant Professor of Marketing3
Assistant Professor of Computer Science2
Assistant Professor, Audiology1
Assistant Professor, Exercise Science and Physical Education1
Assistant Professor, Linguistics1
Assistant Professor of Accounting and Finance1
Assistant Professor of Counseling1
Assistant Professor of Economics1

Countries of citizenship

Countries of citizenship on green card filings
CountryFilings
South Korea4
China2
India1
Turkey1

Minimum education required

Minimum education required on green card filings
EducationFilings
Doctorate7
Bachelor's1

E-Verify

On the E-Verify list

Montclair State University appears on USCIS's list of E-Verify employers dated December 31, 2018, in a state it files from.

The company's listings on USCIS's 2018 E-Verify list
Name as listedLocationWorkforce sizeFederal contractor
Montclair State UniversityMontclair, NJ 070432,500 to 4,999No
Montclair State UniversityMontclair, NJ 070432,500 to 4,999No

Why it matters: employers must be enrolled in E-Verify to employ F-1 students on the STEM OPT extension (8 CFR 214.2(f)(10)(ii)(C)).

This list is from December 31, 2018, and it's the only one USCIS has published. It shows who was enrolled on that date: a company that enrolled later isn't on it, so not being on the list tells you nothing.

How we match companies to the list

The employer's name key appears in the USCIS E-Verify participating-employers list with a state the employer files in. That list is one snapshot, enrolled as of 2018-12-31, so false means only "not on the 2018 list" - not that the employer does not use E-Verify today, and not that it did not enrol the following week. The list carries no FEIN and no case number, so the match is by normalised name and state alone.

Other things to know

H-1B dependent
No

On most of its certified filings in FY2023–FY2025 that answered the question, the company said it is not H-1B dependent. A dependent employer has a large share of H-1B workers on staff and makes extra promises about recruiting and not displacing U.S. workers.

How we work this out

The employer answered Yes to H1B_DEPENDENT on at least half of the certified LCAs where it answered the question, in FY2023-FY2025. false means it answered and Yes was under half; NULL means no certified case answered the question (E-3 and H-1B1 filings answer N/A). The floor is there because a single Yes among thousands of No answers is a tick in the wrong box: it would badge 979 employers that said Yes once, one of them on 1 filing of 2,760; the 473 that answered only once or twice still are. A dependent employer is not a worse employer: the answer is a statutory test on the share of H-1B workers on staff, not a finding.

Willful violator
No

The company's answers on its filings in FY2020–FY2025 don't show a repeated yes. Employers state on each filing whether DOL has found them to be a willful violator in the five years before; this is the company's own answer, not a DOL record.

How we work this out

The employer answered Yes to WILLFUL_VIOLATOR on at least two LCAs in FY2020-FY2025, certified or not, in at least two fiscal years, and in at least one of those years Yes was half or more of what it answered. The floor is there because a single Yes among thousands of No answers is a tick in the wrong box: 505 employers answer Yes exactly once and never twice, and the two employers with the most Yes answers say it on one filing in two thousand. false means the employer answered and did not meet that bar; NULL means it never answered. THIS IS THE FILER'S OWN ATTESTATION ON THE LCA, NOT A DOL FINDING. The authoritative source is the DOL published debarment list, which this project does not yet mirror - it is a follow-up catalog entry - so nothing here has been checked against it.

Cap-exempt
Possibly

Its name or industry code looks like a college or university's. Universities, their affiliated nonprofits and nonprofit research organizations can file H-1B petitions outside the annual cap and lottery. This is an indicator, not a determination: only USCIS decides, petition by petition.

How we work this out

INFERRED, not a determination. true when an FY2023+ LCA carries a NAICS code beginning 6112 or 6113 (junior colleges, colleges and universities) or a raw spelling of the employer's name contains the word UNIVERSITY or COLLEGE. Never false: the column is NULL when neither signal is present, because the absence of a signal is not evidence that an employer is cap-subject. Non-profit research organisations and affiliated hospitals are cap-exempt and both tests miss them. Only USCIS decides cap exemption, petition by petition.

Company details

Name on filings
Montclair State University
Address on filings
Montclair, NJ 07043
Industry
Educational Services (NAICS 611310)
Employees
3,101, as stated on its FY2023 green card filings
Employer ID (FEIN)
22-2912682
On record
FY2020–FY2026
Latest decision on its filings
May 22, 2026

Related companies

No other company shares its Employer ID.

Sources

  • H-1B and green card filings: U.S. Department of Labor, Office of Foreign Labor Certification disclosure data, FY2020 through June 30, 2026.
  • H-1B approvals: USCIS H-1B Employer Data Hub, complete through FY2022; FY2023 is partial.
  • E-Verify: USCIS's list of E-Verify employers as of December 31, 2018.
  • Sponsorship score: computed September 15, 2026 with version 1 of the rules on How Visa Grep works.
  • USCIS approvals are matched to this company by exact name (1 USCIS name). The last four digits of the Employer ID agree.
Record references

Each number on this page is read from one of these rows in the Visa Grep database.

  • employers 137287
  • employer_names
  • employer_feins
  • hub_employers 137287
  • employer_scores 137287
  • rubric 1/*
  • employer_years 137287/2020..2025
  • employer_years 137287/2020..2026
  • employer_years 137287/2009..2019
  • employer_salaries 137287
  • employer_titles 137287
  • employer_worksites 137287
  • employer_occupations 137287
  • employer_mix 137287
  • employer_perm_titles 137287
  • employer_perm_countries 137287
  • employer_perm_education 137287
  • employer_everify 137287
  • employer_details 137287