N. C. STATE UNIVERSITY
H-1B visa and green card sponsorship record
Raleigh, NC Files from NC On record FY2020–FY2024
We found no certified H-1B filings for N. C. STATE UNIVERSITY since FY2020.
It has 70 green card filings (PERM) with the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) since FY2020, most recently in FY2024. USCIS records show 209 new H-1B petitions approved for it in FY2020–FY2023.
At a glance
- Certified H-1B filings, FY2025
- 0 0 so far in FY2026
- USCIS approval rate, FY2020–FY2022
- 100.0% of 179 new petitions
- Green card filings (PERM), FY2025
- 0 7 in FY2024
- E-Verify
- On the list as of December 31, 2018
- H-1B dependent
- Not stated
Fiscal years (FY) run October to September. Approval rates are from U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS).
Sponsorship score
5/7
Computed September 15, 2026 from its FY2020–FY2025 record.
- Recent approvals 3/3
55 new H-1B petitions approved by USCIS in FY2022
- Entry-level hiring Not rated
Fewer than 5 H-1B filings with a wage level in FY2023–FY2025 (0)
- Files every year 0/2
Certified H-1B filings in 0 of the 3 years FY2023–FY2025
- Approval rate 2/2
100.0% of 179 new petitions approved, FY2020–FY2022
Out of 7, not 10: parts without enough data aren't rated, and don't count against the company.
H-1B approvals (USCIS)
After DOL certifies an LCA, the employer files the H-1B petition with U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS), which approves or denies it. New petitions and extensions or transfers are counted separately.
| New petitions | Extensions and transfers | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fiscal year | Approved | Denied | Approval rate | Approved | Denied |
| FY2020 | 51 | 0 | 100.0% | 63 | 1 |
| FY2021 | 73 | 0 | 100.0% | 97 | 0 |
| FY2022 | 55 | 0 | 100.0% | 58 | 1 |
| FY2023 (partial) | 30 | 0 | 100.0% | 34 | 2 |
These numbers come from USCIS, which decides H-1B petitions. They count different things from Department of Labor filings, so we never add the two together.
FY2023 is incomplete: USCIS's last data release covers only part of that year (38,315 new approvals nationwide, against 138,381 in FY2022).
USCIS hasn't published employer-level approval data after FY2023.
No filings with DOL and no USCIS decisions are on record for this company in FY2025 or FY2026.
USCIS also has records for this company in FY2009–FY2019: 241 new H-1B petitions approved. Show FY2009 onward
Salaries
We found no certified H-1B filings with a salary for this company, and none at all since FY2023.
Green card sponsorship (PERM)
Most employer-sponsored green cards start with a PERM labor certification, filed with the Department of Labor. These are this company's, by fiscal year.
| Fiscal year | Filed | Certified | Denied | Withdrawn |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2020 | 16 | 16 | 0 | 0 |
| FY2021 | 14 | 14 | 0 | 0 |
| FY2022 | 18 | 18 | 0 | 0 |
| FY2023 | 15 | 13 | 0 | 2 |
| FY2024 | 7 | 7 | 0 | 0 |
Across all its green card filings since FY2020, whatever the outcome. DOL's newer PERM form doesn't include citizenship or education, so those two lists cover filings made on the older one.
Top green card job titles
| Job title | Filings |
|---|---|
| Assistant Professor | 37 |
| Research Associate | 4 |
| Research Scholar | 3 |
| Assistant Teaching Professor | 2 |
| Research Assistant Professor | 2 |
| Assistant Director | 1 |
| Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist | 1 |
| Assistant Professor of Learning Design and Technology | 1 |
Countries of citizenship
| Country | Filings |
|---|---|
| China | 11 |
| India | 9 |
| Germany | 5 |
| Brazil | 4 |
| Colombia | 4 |
| Canada | 3 |
| France | 3 |
| Italy | 3 |
Minimum education required
| Education | Filings |
|---|---|
| Doctorate | 50 |
| Master's | 8 |
| Bachelor's | 6 |
| Other | 6 |
E-Verify
On the E-Verify list
N. C. STATE UNIVERSITY appears on USCIS's list of E-Verify employers dated December 31, 2018, in a state it files from.
| Name as listed | Location | Workforce size | Federal contractor |
|---|---|---|---|
| NC State University | Raleigh, NC 27606 | 10 to 19 | No |
Why it matters: employers must be enrolled in E-Verify to employ F-1 students on the STEM OPT extension (8 CFR 214.2(f)(10)(ii)(C)).
This list is from December 31, 2018, and it's the only one USCIS has published. It shows who was enrolled on that date: a company that enrolled later isn't on it, so not being on the list tells you nothing.
How we match companies to the list
The employer's name key appears in the USCIS E-Verify participating-employers list with a state the employer files in. That list is one snapshot, enrolled as of 2018-12-31, so false means only "not on the 2018 list" - not that the employer does not use E-Verify today, and not that it did not enrol the following week. The list carries no FEIN and no case number, so the match is by normalised name and state alone.
Other things to know
- H-1B dependent
- Not stated
None of its certified filings in FY2023–FY2025 answered the question. A dependent employer has a large share of H-1B workers on staff and makes extra promises about recruiting and not displacing U.S. workers.
How we work this out
The employer answered Yes to H1B_DEPENDENT on at least half of the certified LCAs where it answered the question, in FY2023-FY2025. false means it answered and Yes was under half; NULL means no certified case answered the question (E-3 and H-1B1 filings answer N/A). The floor is there because a single Yes among thousands of No answers is a tick in the wrong box: it would badge 979 employers that said Yes once, one of them on 1 filing of 2,760; the 473 that answered only once or twice still are. A dependent employer is not a worse employer: the answer is a statutory test on the share of H-1B workers on staff, not a finding.
- Willful violator
- Not stated
The company didn't answer this question on its filings in FY2020–FY2025. Employers state on each filing whether DOL has found them to be a willful violator in the five years before; this is the company's own answer, not a DOL record.
How we work this out
The employer answered Yes to WILLFUL_VIOLATOR on at least two LCAs in FY2020-FY2025, certified or not, in at least two fiscal years, and in at least one of those years Yes was half or more of what it answered. The floor is there because a single Yes among thousands of No answers is a tick in the wrong box: 505 employers answer Yes exactly once and never twice, and the two employers with the most Yes answers say it on one filing in two thousand. false means the employer answered and did not meet that bar; NULL means it never answered. THIS IS THE FILER'S OWN ATTESTATION ON THE LCA, NOT A DOL FINDING. The authoritative source is the DOL published debarment list, which this project does not yet mirror - it is a follow-up catalog entry - so nothing here has been checked against it.
- Cap-exempt
- Possibly
Its name or industry code looks like a college or university's. Universities, their affiliated nonprofits and nonprofit research organizations can file H-1B petitions outside the annual cap and lottery. This is an indicator, not a determination: only USCIS decides, petition by petition.
How we work this out
INFERRED, not a determination. true when an FY2023+ LCA carries a NAICS code beginning 6112 or 6113 (junior colleges, colleges and universities) or a raw spelling of the employer's name contains the word UNIVERSITY or COLLEGE. Never false: the column is NULL when neither signal is present, because the absence of a signal is not evidence that an employer is cap-subject. Non-profit research organisations and affiliated hospitals are cap-exempt and both tests miss them. Only USCIS decides cap exemption, petition by petition.
Company details
- Name on filings
- N. C. STATE UNIVERSITY
- Address on filings
- Raleigh, NC 27695
- Employees
- 9,600, as stated on its FY2024 green card filings
- Employer ID (FEIN)
- 56-6000756
- On record
- FY2020–FY2024
- Latest decision on its filings
- June 5, 2024
Related companies
1 other company shares an Employer ID (FEIN) with N. C. STATE UNIVERSITY. They file separately, and nothing on this page counts their filings.
Sources
- H-1B and green card filings: U.S. Department of Labor, Office of Foreign Labor Certification disclosure data, FY2020 through June 30, 2026.
- H-1B approvals: USCIS H-1B Employer Data Hub, complete through FY2022; FY2023 is partial.
- E-Verify: USCIS's list of E-Verify employers as of December 31, 2018.
- Sponsorship score: computed September 15, 2026 with version 1 of the rules on How Visa Grep works.
- USCIS approvals are matched to this company by exact name (1 USCIS name). The last four digits of the Employer ID agree.
Record references
Each number on this page is read from one of these rows in the Visa Grep database.
- employers 141891
- employer_names
- employer_feins
- hub_employers 141891
- employer_scores 141891
- rubric 1/*
- employer_years 141891/2020..2024
- employer_years 141891/2009..2019
- employer_feins 141891
- employer_perm_titles 141891
- employer_perm_countries 141891
- employer_perm_education 141891
- employer_everify 141891
- employer_details 141891