Visa Grep Sign in

University of Washington

H-1B visa and green card sponsorship record

Seattle, WA Educational Services Files from WA On record FY2020–FY2026

Yes — University of Washington sponsors H-1B visas.

The U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) certified 231 of its H-1B filings in FY2025 and 153 so far in FY2026 (through June 30, 2026).

At a glance

Certified H-1B filings, FY2025
231 153 so far in FY2026
Median offered salary, FY2025
$94,266 from 230 filings
USCIS approval rate, FY2020–FY2022
99.6% of 232 new petitions
Green card filings (PERM), FY2025
30
E-Verify
On the list as of December 31, 2018
H-1B dependent
No

Fiscal years (FY) run October to September. Approval rates are from U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS).

Sponsorship score

10/10

Computed September 15, 2026 from its FY2020–FY2025 record.

  • Recent approvals 3/3

    80 new H-1B petitions approved by USCIS in FY2022

  • Entry-level hiring 3/3

    94% of 294 H-1B filings with a wage level were entry level (I or II), FY2023–FY2025

  • Files every year 2/2

    Certified H-1B filings in 3 of the 3 years FY2023–FY2025

  • Approval rate 2/2

    99.6% of 232 new petitions approved, FY2020–FY2022

H-1B filings (Department of Labor)

Before filing an H-1B petition, an employer must get a Labor Condition Application (LCA) certified by the Department of Labor. These are this company's LCAs, by fiscal year.

H-1B filings with the Department of Labor, by fiscal year
Fiscal yearFiledCertified H-1BDeniedWithdrawnEntry level
FY202015414602386% of 43
FY202117116803396% of 54
FY202217216904789% of 57
FY202315815104093% of 58
FY202420519804588% of 97
FY202524023105898% of 139
FY2026 so far15515302091% of 86
Certified H-1B filings, FY2020–FY2026. Tallest bar: FY2025, 231. Scaled to this chart's own tallest bar.

Entry level is the share of certified H-1B filings with a stated wage level that were level I or II.

“Filed”, “Denied” and “Withdrawn” count every LCA, including the E-3 and H-1B1 visas that use the same form; “Certified H-1B” counts H-1B only. A filing certified and later withdrawn counts in both columns.

FY2026 is in progress: data runs through June 30, 2026.

H-1B approvals (USCIS)

After DOL certifies an LCA, the employer files the H-1B petition with U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS), which approves or denies it. New petitions and extensions or transfers are counted separately.

H-1B petitions decided by USCIS, by fiscal year
New petitionsExtensions and transfers
Fiscal yearApprovedDeniedApproval rateApprovedDenied
FY2020760100.0%800
FY202175198.7%741
FY2022800100.0%853
FY2023 (partial)280100.0%280
New H-1B petitions approved, FY2020–FY2023. Tallest bar: FY2022, 80. Scaled to this chart's own tallest bar.

These numbers come from USCIS, which decides H-1B petitions. They count different things from Department of Labor filings, so we never add the two together.

FY2023 is incomplete: USCIS's last data release covers only part of that year (38,315 new approvals nationwide, against 138,381 in FY2022).

USCIS hasn't published employer-level approval data after FY2023.

USCIS also has records for this company in FY2009–FY2019: 812 new H-1B petitions approved. Show FY2009 onward

Salaries

Offered salary is the yearly pay an employer states on a certified, full-time H-1B filing — the bottom of the range when it gives one. Hourly, weekly and monthly pay is converted to a yearly figure; amounts under $15,000 or over $1,000,000 a year are left out. The typical range is the middle half: a quarter of filings offered less, and a quarter more.

Offered salaries on certified H-1B filings, by fiscal year
Fiscal yearMedianTypical rangeFilings
FY2020$65,004$58,224 – $90,000146
FY2021$68,854$58,140 – $94,560168
FY2022$75,000$61,800 – $100,683169
FY2023$85,005$65,574 – $127,164151
FY2024$84,996$72,504 – $117,000198
FY2025$94,266$77,844 – $125,004230
FY2026 so far$92,928$80,172 – $134,196153

Wage levels since FY2023

  • Level I (entry) 247 65%
  • Level II (entry) 106 28%
  • Level III 24 6%
  • Level IV 3 1%

Shares of the 380 certified H-1B filings since FY2023 that state a wage level. 353 filings didn't state one.

Jobs and locations

Certified H-1B filings since FY2023, with the median offered salary for each.

Top job titles

Top job titles on certified H-1B filings since FY2023
Job titleFilingsMedian salaryTypical wage level
Postdoctoral Scholar160$70,500Not stated
Assistant Professor154$117,900I (entry)
Acting Instructor115$84,720I (entry)
Assistant Professor without Tenure59$245,004I (entry)
Resident38$78,660Not stated
Acting Assistant Professor25$105,444I (entry)
Assistant Teaching Professor24$84,600I (entry)
Fellow17$91,962Not stated
Research Assistant Professor17$114,252I (entry)
Research Scientist/Engineer 314$82,008Not stated

Top locations

Top worksites on certified H-1B filings since FY2023
LocationFilingsMedian salary
Seattle, WA676$90,000
Tacoma, WA36$87,030
Bothell, WA9$115,002
Washington, DC2$70,008
Basking Ridge, NJ1$69,996
Bellevue, WA1$108,000
Berkeley, CA1$130,500
Dublin, CA1$207,216
Federal Way, WA1$84,504
Indian Trail, NC1$127,500

Top occupations

Top occupations on certified H-1B filings since FY2023
OccupationFilingsMedian salary
Health Specialties Teachers, Postsecondary 25-1071104$210,000
Medical Scientists, Except Epidemiologists 19-104288$75,600
Biochemists and Biophysicists 19-102158$73,008
Bioinformatics Scientists 19-102939$80,000
Computer Science Teachers, Postsecondary 25-102128$118,008
Business Teachers, Postsecondary 25-101127$210,645

What the filings were for

What its certified H-1B filings since FY2023 were for, as marked on each LCA. One filing can cover several workers, so these count worker positions.

Worker positions on certified H-1B filings since FY2023, by purpose
Filing typeWorker positionsShare
New employment New H-1B workers joining the company36049%
Continuation of existing employment Extensions for current H-1B workers21830%
Change of employer Transfers in: H-1B workers moving from another employer8411%
Change in previous employment Changes to a current H-1B worker's job243%
Concurrent employment A second H-1B job alongside one elsewhere00%
Amended petition Amendments to a petition already filed476%

It also has 4 certified E-3 filings (a visa for Australian citizens) since FY2023. They use the same form and aren't counted above.

Green card sponsorship (PERM)

Most employer-sponsored green cards start with a PERM labor certification, filed with the Department of Labor. These are this company's, by fiscal year.

Green card filings (PERM), by fiscal year
Fiscal yearFiledCertifiedDeniedWithdrawn
FY2020181800
FY2021191900
FY2022201901
FY2023151401
FY2024322903
FY2025302703
FY2026 so far272403

FY2026 is in progress: data runs through June 30, 2026.

Across all its green card filings since FY2020, whatever the outcome. DOL's newer PERM form doesn't include citizenship or education, so those two lists cover filings made on the older one.

Top green card job titles

Top job titles on green card filings
Job titleFilings
Assistant Professor109
Assistant Professor without Tenure15
Assistant Teaching Professor11
Research Assistant Professor5
Assistant Teaching Professor (formerly Lecturer Full-Time)4
Associate Professor Without Tenure4
Assistant Professor - Aeronautics & Astronautics2
Assistant Professor - Theoretical Physics2

Countries of citizenship

Countries of citizenship on green card filings
CountryFilings
China15
Canada13
India11
Italy4
South Korea4
Colombia3
Germany3
Turkey3

Minimum education required

Minimum education required on green card filings
EducationFilings
Doctorate71
Master's9
Other6

E-Verify

On the E-Verify list

University of Washington appears on USCIS's list of E-Verify employers dated December 31, 2018, in a state it files from.

The company's listings on USCIS's 2018 E-Verify list
Name as listedLocationWorkforce sizeFederal contractor
University of WashingtonSeattle, WA 9819510 to 19Yes

Why it matters: employers must be enrolled in E-Verify to employ F-1 students on the STEM OPT extension (8 CFR 214.2(f)(10)(ii)(C)).

This list is from December 31, 2018, and it's the only one USCIS has published. It shows who was enrolled on that date: a company that enrolled later isn't on it, so not being on the list tells you nothing.

How we match companies to the list

The employer's name key appears in the USCIS E-Verify participating-employers list with a state the employer files in. That list is one snapshot, enrolled as of 2018-12-31, so false means only "not on the 2018 list" - not that the employer does not use E-Verify today, and not that it did not enrol the following week. The list carries no FEIN and no case number, so the match is by normalised name and state alone.

Other things to know

H-1B dependent
No

On most of its certified filings in FY2023–FY2025 that answered the question, the company said it is not H-1B dependent. A dependent employer has a large share of H-1B workers on staff and makes extra promises about recruiting and not displacing U.S. workers.

How we work this out

The employer answered Yes to H1B_DEPENDENT on at least half of the certified LCAs where it answered the question, in FY2023-FY2025. false means it answered and Yes was under half; NULL means no certified case answered the question (E-3 and H-1B1 filings answer N/A). The floor is there because a single Yes among thousands of No answers is a tick in the wrong box: it would badge 979 employers that said Yes once, one of them on 1 filing of 2,760; the 473 that answered only once or twice still are. A dependent employer is not a worse employer: the answer is a statutory test on the share of H-1B workers on staff, not a finding.

Willful violator
No

The company's answers on its filings in FY2020–FY2025 don't show a repeated yes. Employers state on each filing whether DOL has found them to be a willful violator in the five years before; this is the company's own answer, not a DOL record.

How we work this out

The employer answered Yes to WILLFUL_VIOLATOR on at least two LCAs in FY2020-FY2025, certified or not, in at least two fiscal years, and in at least one of those years Yes was half or more of what it answered. The floor is there because a single Yes among thousands of No answers is a tick in the wrong box: 505 employers answer Yes exactly once and never twice, and the two employers with the most Yes answers say it on one filing in two thousand. false means the employer answered and did not meet that bar; NULL means it never answered. THIS IS THE FILER'S OWN ATTESTATION ON THE LCA, NOT A DOL FINDING. The authoritative source is the DOL published debarment list, which this project does not yet mirror - it is a follow-up catalog entry - so nothing here has been checked against it.

Cap-exempt
Possibly

Its name or industry code looks like a college or university's. Universities, their affiliated nonprofits and nonprofit research organizations can file H-1B petitions outside the annual cap and lottery. This is an indicator, not a determination: only USCIS decides, petition by petition.

How we work this out

INFERRED, not a determination. true when an FY2023+ LCA carries a NAICS code beginning 6112 or 6113 (junior colleges, colleges and universities) or a raw spelling of the employer's name contains the word UNIVERSITY or COLLEGE. Never false: the column is NULL when neither signal is present, because the absence of a signal is not evidence that an employer is cap-subject. Non-profit research organisations and affiliated hospitals are cap-exempt and both tests miss them. Only USCIS decides cap exemption, petition by petition.

Company details

Name on filings
University of Washington
Other names on filings
University of Washington Seattle/Tacoma/Bothell
Address on filings
Seattle, WA 98195
Industry
Educational Services (NAICS 611310)
Employees
30,000, as stated on its FY2024 green card filings
Employer ID (FEIN)
91-6001537
On record
FY2020–FY2026
Latest decision on its filings
June 29, 2026

Related companies

No other company shares its Employer ID.

Sources

  • H-1B and green card filings: U.S. Department of Labor, Office of Foreign Labor Certification disclosure data, FY2020 through June 30, 2026.
  • H-1B approvals: USCIS H-1B Employer Data Hub, complete through FY2022; FY2023 is partial.
  • E-Verify: USCIS's list of E-Verify employers as of December 31, 2018.
  • Sponsorship score: computed September 15, 2026 with version 1 of the rules on How Visa Grep works.
  • USCIS approvals are matched to this company by exact name (1 USCIS name). The last four digits of the Employer ID agree.
Record references

Each number on this page is read from one of these rows in the Visa Grep database.

  • employers 212151
  • employer_names
  • employer_feins
  • hub_employers 212151
  • employer_scores 212151
  • rubric 1/*
  • employer_years 212151/2020..2025
  • employer_years 212151/2020..2026
  • employer_years 212151/2009..2019
  • employer_salaries 212151
  • employer_titles 212151
  • employer_worksites 212151
  • employer_occupations 212151
  • employer_mix 212151
  • employer_perm_titles 212151
  • employer_perm_countries 212151
  • employer_perm_education 212151
  • employer_everify 212151
  • employer_details 212151
  • employer_names 212151